Random Thoughts on Unemployment

It’s been about 6 months since I lost my job…

That time hasn’t been completely horrible, but has kind of been a punch in the teeth. I really wanted to make a difference at my former workplace, and feel like I didn’t. It’s nasty – feeling like you’re a failure, and maybe never being able to fix that. Also, it’s pretty awful feeling like nobody cares what you think or bothers to listen to you.  Anyway, I’m stuck back at home, without any close by friends, and without even a decent library. I’m an MLIS student, and have been in the thick of the bleakness that is job searching. It feels like my life is on hold.

What I hope though is that this unemployment shakes me out of any complacency, and allows me to sympathize and reach out effectively to those others experiencing this as well

For those of you fellow library work job hunters, know that there are people out there who want to help and lend and ear.

You Are Not Alone.

But hopefully things will be brighter soon. right? In the meanwhile, I’m looking forward to the new Call the Midwife season, reading and watching a lot of YouTube videos, finding people and groups on Facebook and Twitter to follow and get involved with, and volunteering for INALJ – I Need a Library Job – My New Years resolution is learning how to take criticism better, be more of a leader, be more active, and just work on working with people better (Listening!) and trying to remain positive.

One thing that I have learned is that sometimes it doesn’t feel like you have control over your circumstances, and that basically sucks…

But what I can cultivate – with help – is (Goodness knows it’s tough; I’m still working on it.) control over amy ttitude (Yeah, I know, nobody likes platitudes, but it’s true…)

And figuring out what you really want to do with your life, then actually doing it… that can be scary and by no means easy, but it’s definitely worth it

Also, that support group – that group of people who inspire you, believe in you and, are really rooting for you (sometimes you might not even realize who they are unless you speak up) – is essential.

Here are some questions I would love feedback on:

What does diversity mean to you, and why do you think it’s important?

Some other questions I have are how do you not feel guilty job searching? There are some people who work their hearts out, doing their best applying, and feel guilty taking a break. Or they don’t really know what to do to just relax and enjoy life a little. How do you squash that annoying little voice saying “Looser” or “You’re never going to make it…”?

Have you ever been stuck in an awful job situation? What did you do about it?

And here’s a final question: (Comment away, please.) what do you think are some of the most critical issues libraries face today?

P.S. Thank you, brave people, who are willing to talk about tough stuff you’re going through, you may not realize how that impacts somebody else.

P.S.S. If anybody would

One thought on “Random Thoughts on Unemployment”

  1. One thing is to stay positive, and think of the advantages of being able to be in school full time. Yes it is tough to cut budgets, and PB&J sandwiches a few times a day gets boring after awhile, but a mantra that helped me is remembering that there is a light at the end of the tunnel. You will be graduating from a top ranked school with well respected. I’m not sure where your interests are outside but take this time to explore them, and figure out which type of library you would like to be in after graduation. Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

