Research Anxiety

It’s a real thing, everybody… research anxiety, that is…

For example, taking a medical anthropology class a few years ago, I had to write a class paper: a typical assignment.But I have not been a traditional student by any means, running the educational gamut of homeschooling, public school, and private school for a few years. As a high schooler an undergrad, I hadn’t really used databases much, and I didn’t really feel comfortable accessing them. Even as an avowed public library aficionado, I did not like using the ginormous university library for some reason (It was a long walk…)

One good thing that university librarians realize is that different students may have different research ability gaps.

Why do uni libraries not do more outreach?

That’s one useful thing my MLIS career has taught me, to be more sensitive of the issues information seekers go through.

If I had an undergrad experience redo, I would use the library more.

Leave a Reply

